The roadtrip: L’Isle sur la Sorgue

We were so lucky with the weather on our roadtrip. When we arrived to L’Isle sur la Sorgue, I had to take off my jumper and suddenly it felt like I was on holiday. A holiday isn’t a holiday unless you have to strip off a piece of clothing because it’s too hot!

L'Isle sur la Sorgue

I had read about L’Isle sur la Sorgue and its antiquities fame and I was very keen to explore the scene. Sure enough, throughout the little town, there were antique shops scattered here and there with the most fantastic items; a life size zebra here, a giant hamburger there. Of course, there were more authentic Provencal articles too, which would sit well in any cool boutique hotel (such as Maison sur la Sorgue). We missed the big antiques market, but since we arrived so late on a Sunday I didn’t have much hope of catching anything open. But L’Isle sur la Sorgue proved me wrong and it’s probably the best town to visit on a Sunday in France – it was full of life!

French street

I remember the days when I lived in Montpellier and everything was closed. Even Carrefour! Sundays were so dull, I don’t think we hardly ever left our flat.

Lavender ice cream

We decided to scrap lunch and enjoyed ice cream instead. I embraced Provence fully, with lavender-flavoured ice cream and the Italian – I suppose he chose something traditional like chocolate and hazelnut. Why rock the boat? He did however have an epiphany and expressed an interest to run an ice-cream parlour when he got older. Check in in a few year’s time to see where we’re at on that.

La Sorgue

We strolled past the loveliest of shops and I think the Italian sensed I might well stay there for a considerable time, acquiring more and more things. So did we do any shopping? Oh yes. A scarf, a bracelet, a necklace and two paintings later, we were ready to take off and go to our hotel in Mane.

Provence

The hotel, a convent from the 17th century, was our sanctuary for the next 2 days. I’ll tell you more about it in my next road trip special blog post. I’ll give you a sneak peak here…

Le Couvent de Minimes view

Leave a Reply

