I’m being bookish

On Monday night I was in a specific shopping mood. But I wasn’t looking for a new pair of jeans or a warm jumper, I wanted to browse the selection in my local bookstore.

Cookies in a cup

Before I came to England and before I went to university here, I worked in a bookstore for nearly 2 years. I both loved and hated it. I loved my 45% discount, but I hated the ignorant customers who never found the book they were looking for.

On Monday, I was the ignorant customer and had to ask where they stored John Lanchester’s Capital. To be fair, it was actually displayed on a table… I also picked up Caitlin Moran’s How to be a woman and debated whether I should buy Susan Cain’s Quiet. There’s something about Daunt Books that makes me want to get my hands on practically everything!

Cranberry and pecan cookies

It’s just how a bookstore should be: personal, inspirational and not focused on displaying Katie Price’s memoirs or the bestseller list. You can find gems in those stores. I stopped by the art, travel and current affair section (books on Italy – because of the papal election -, feminism – because of International Women’s Day etc.) and mooched around for a good 30 minutes.

I have, as long as I can remember, been fascinated by books. As a geeky kid I devoured one hundred books a year at my peak, ploughing through Sweet Valley High and various horror books; oh the suspense! My Christmas wish list always circulated around books and picking out the nicest covers, which would look good on my bookshelf (I still do that).

Breakfast treats

I wasn’t particularly sophisticated in my choices (see Sweet Valley High above), that came later as I studied English & Comparative Literature at university, but I read and read and read. Until I started working.

Suddenly I had no time to sit down. I picked up an issue of Vogue, but I couldn’t sit through 200 pages of a novel. In the past year I’ve read two books that I can remember (The hundred year old man who climbed out of a window and disappeared and Anna Karenina) and that’s a very dire verdict.

Stack of cookies

It’s not until this week I got the urge to read again. So, if you don’t mind me, I’m going to wrap this post up and sit down with the brilliant Caitlin Moran for the next hour.

The images to this post has nothing to do at all with books. It’s just the banana, cranberry and pecan nut cookies I made this morning. The Italian always wants to eat cookies for Saturday breakfast, so I thought I would make a healthy treat. Of course he didn’t particularly like them. Recipe can be found here.

Leave a Reply

