I’m a sucker for Christmas

There, I said it. I’m a Christmas freak. Admittedly, I don’t get as excited these days as when I was younger and went to school (how can you not get excited when you’re making Christmas tree garlands instead of learning about physics?), but the spirit is still there within me.

I want to make gingerbread snaps, saffron buns, listen to Christmas carols and decorate my house with teeny tiny Santa elves. Maybe this year I’ll get into gear and make any of the above happen. Last December, I only managed to tick off the saffron bun making and I had far too little mulled wine.

It was with great pleasure therefore that I stumbled upon a German Christmas market when visiting Birmingham. I had been there before, 6 years ago to be exact, and that time I wasn’t with a female colleague. Needless to say, it brought back some fond memories.

It also brought to life an immense appetite for wurst, marzipan and glühwein. No one does Christmas markets quite so well as the Germans. Of course, there are bound to be some wishy-washy stalls with decorations you certainly don’t hope will end up in your Christmas stocking. I’ve never understood the zodiac jewellery or the incense-smelling stalls that sell knitted hippie hats. But I’m not going to moan, let’s rejoice instead that there’s something for everyone.

With Birmingham’s Frankfurt Christmas market to kick off the season, I might even go to a few more before it’s time to the digest the Christmas Eve buffet, because sadly, I know I won’t be making any Christmas tree garlands at work.

Leave a Reply

