Fro-yoing at Pinkberry

I don’t know what I expected from Pinkberry, but I certainly didn’t expect it to take 15 minutes to order a frozen yogurt. It seems fast fro-yo places are popping up in every corner of the city, and are promoted as a low-fat, healthy alternative to… I don’t know, crisps, ice cream, cupcakes?

The whole ordering was quite laborious, as is the case when you have many option presented in front of you. First of all I was asked what kind of yogurt I wanted. As the plain Jane I am I went for the original flavour. The kid behind the counter also offered me to try chocolate as well as pomegranate (or was it mango?), as he didn’t seem certain that the original was the right choice for me. Oh certain I most certainly was.

The yogurt itself might be “healthy” (non-fat milk and non-fat yogurt), but the toppings are certainly not. Sure, you can opt for blueberries, kiwi, mango or coconut, but that’s not actually the selling point, is it? Instead, what’s interesting is the Cap ‘n Crunch, Fruity pebbles and crunchy chocolate pearls. And hear this one out, as long as the toppings don’t spill over the paper cup, you can have as many you want. Thumbs up for being generous.

Of course, I went for fruit, honey granola and nuts. We’ve already established that I’m Plain Jane, so selling points don’t generally work for me anyway. Hadn’t it been for the creamy, tangy, cold yogurt (brain freeze warning) I might as well be having breakfast.

Pinkberry is a great little treat, don’t get me wrong, it’s just that it isn’t exactly mindblowing. With 257,804 likes on Facebook, and with LA sold on the concept, it seems that people are more overhelmed than underwhelmed. So I’ll have to give it another go.

When Pinkberry moves out of its uncosy Selfridges premises, when the staff stops saying “enjoy your Pinkberry” and when we hit spring, I might be one of those 257,804 fans. And who knows, maybe I’ll even opt for that Cap ‘n Crunch topping. After all, it was my favourite cereal as a child.

Leave a Reply

