The soft sourdough sandwich

I have changed jobs, I no longer work in food PR, but have changed direction completely. I now work in the home improvement industry as a Communications & Content manager. At first I was quite hesitant, what do I know about refurbishing houses (answer: nothing whatsoever), and how fun can this field be (turns out: very). Now, I’m convinced I made the right decision. Especially since I have a lovely colleague with whom I have much in common; perms, shoes and lack of plumbing knowledge.

Lotte and I are basically the only ones talking in our office. And we do it loudly.You have to when you brainstorm blog topics, affiliate schemes and partner ideas, right? Occasionally, we also talk about food. I more so than her. Last week we had a sudden ice cream craving and we hopped on the tube to Oddono’s in South Ken. She loved it.

Last Friday we had yet another ice cream craving and went to Gelupo in Soho. This Italian gelateria and delicatessen belongs to Bocca di Lupo and have quite a good reputation. I tried the salted caramel and yoghurt, coconut and stracciatella ice cream, and it was tasty, it just didn’t compare to Oddono’s. It was a bit icy, not creamy enough (which means it’s probably better for you, but who cares anyway) and didn’t really hit the spot.

However, I’m digressing (I’m sensing AA Gill tendencies). The purpose of this post is not to talk about ice cream, but to talk about the sandwich I devoured before the ice cream. Gelupo serves excellent sourdough and focaccia sandwiches, with typical Italian fillings. You can customise your own or opt for their “favourites”. I played it safe and went for fennel salami, tomatoes and squacquerone cheese (soft cheese like cream cheese).

Best bread ever.

Best filling ever, with lots of olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

If this is what they would serve in every other sandwich shop, I would be a sandwich monster. I strongly recommend going to Gelupo just for the the bread, which is so fresh it feels it was just taken out of the oven. In the words of Arnold Schwarzenegger “I’ll be back”.

Leave a Reply

