Mandorlino, you little charmer

The weekend came and went in a huff, puff and I’ll blow you away speed. I can’t really tell you what I’ve been up to, apart from eating an exquisite mandorlino from Orsini. The Lovely L and I met up in South Kensington to visit the V&A’s new exhibition The Cult of Beauty: The Aesthetic Movement 1860-1900. Like the Decadent geek I am, I giggled at the sight of Aubrey Beardsley’s illustrations, swooned over Edward Burne-Jones’s classic and ethereal beauties, and liked the look of Christopher Dresser’s modern-looking tea pots. After two hours admiring peacocks and japonaise prints we were kicked out, the museum had closed. And I craved a mandorlino. Badly.

Orsini is a family-owned Italian caffe and restaurant on Brompton Road/Thurloe Place. I discovered it when I was at university and have kept going back for years. It’s the place to go for a sweet moccha and a mandorlino; a chewy almond biscuit made in-house. The mandorlino has almost a frangipane texture and is most certainly seasoned with orange zest. It’s a lovely treat and worth trying if you have a sweet tooth. One day I’ll save up the courage and ask for the recipe.

The image belongs to Sandra P. gourmandise.

2 thoughts on “Mandorlino, you little charmer

Leave a Reply

