Local Treasures at the Wheatsheaf

My regular Sunday stroll took me to Fulham and the Wheatsheaf pub. There’s a bi-monthly community market there called “Local Treasures“, which displays local talents and creative traders. It also serves a decent brunch. I was curious to see what it was about and I had also heard that there were cinnamon buns lurking around…

I’ve been talking a lot about bread recently, but since I started working with Jane of Virtuous Bread, bread has sort of snuck into my diet again. It’s just too good to avoid. Rye bread certainly ain’t gonna kill you.

After a long night (and morning) at The Box, I quickly devoured 2 slices of toasted fruit loaf, one cinnamon bun and a bowl of yoghurt. The yoghurt with banana and honey is only £2, which is a bargain. Go to Vingt-Quatre down the road from me and you pay a fiver.

The pub has a really relaxed atmosphere and a DJ is playing lazy Sunday music. The Sunday papers are out and people come and go. It has a nice community feel to it and I bet that’s exactly what Lance, the enthusiastic owner of the Wheatsheaf, is after. It certainly doesn’t feel like a grubby pub, and no sticky alcopop smell linger.

Although I won’t be coming down every time, it’s nice to know there’s a cosy place where I can get a decent breakfast and a good ol’ cinnamon bun. The Local Treasures market runs every second and last Sunday from 9am-1am.

Here’s Jane’s recipe for banana jam. Best served on whole wheat toast of course.

1 kg bananas

500 g cooking apples (when peeled and cored)

75 ml water

Juice and grated rind of 1 lemon

1.5 kg sugar

– Rough chop the peeled and cored apples, put in pan with water and grated lemon rind.  Simmer until tender.

– Add lemon juice and mashed bananas and cook for 5 mins on low heat.

– Add sugar and stir until it has dissolved on low heat.

– Boil rapidly until set.

Leave a Reply

