Bringing you Bill’s

Whatever happened to tourist-central Covent Garden? The where-can-I-go-to-get-a-decent-meal good ol’ CG? With Hawksmoor, Dishoom and Les Deux Salons as fairly new additions to the piazza scene, it can no longer be dubbed a food wasteland.

The other day I was walking down Monmouth Street and had to halt (yes, this is what I did). There was a new courtyard open next to the very empty-looking Cantina Laredo. With an explorer’s mind I walked in and discovered – Bill’s. I couldn’t resist going in and have a peek.

I almost got an American vibe as I walked through the doors, but the menu spans mainly the Mediterranean, with a few American burgers and BLTs along with Thai green curry. You can have breakfast, lunch and dinner here and the desserts look dangerously tempting. The carrot cake must be a good ‘un.

It’s easy to fall in love with this colourful extravaganza of can goods, cookies and crackers. I didn’t try anything on the menu, but the vibe was enough to make me want to come back. Rustic wooden tables and chilli garlands just can’t go wrong. Even if it does, I will probably revisit and give it another chance. Yes, it’s that cosy. You know why? It has fika potential.

With new boutiques and a gorgeous flower shop, St. Martin’s Courtyard is actually worth checking out, and  since I also have discovered that it’s home to another interesting place: Crazy Bear’s Members Club (it has a piano bar!), I know I’ll definitely be back.

2 thoughts on “Bringing you Bill’s

Leave a Reply

